The Blue City    

Sean Thomas Dougherty

Paperback - April 2008
84 Pages
ISBN: 0-9779703-5-3
USD $14.95 + Shipping

In the complicated trio of Tomas the fishmonger, Marta the intellectual, and Josef the shady narrator involved in something dark and unsaid, Sean ThomasDougherty fashions a series of intertwined noir chapters that draw on real and imagined Eastern European history. In The Blue City, characters weave in and out of mythical cities based on colors that cut across time and space, as they seek to understand the many avenues that inhabit us both outside and within. Part Calvino, part Jàbes, this brief experimental novella challenges notions of the genre, as its characters search for meaning and redemption in their own lives, as the past intrudes into the present, and what was done or not done, will destroy them or be forgiven.

Buy Now

About the Author, Sean Thomas Dougherty

Sean Thomas DoughertySean Thomas Dougherty was born in 1965. He is the author of nine books including Nightshift Belonging to Lorca , a finalist for the Paterson Poetry Prize and Except by Falling winner of the 2000 Pinyon Press Poetry Prize from Mesa State College. His last book Broken Hallelujahs was released by BOA Editions in September 2007. His awards include two Pennsylvania Council for the Arts Fellowships in Poetry. Known for his electrifying performances, he has toured extensively across North America and Europe. He received an MFA in poetry from Syracuse University and lives in Erie, PA where he teaches writing workshops.


Reviews and Comments

"Thomas is no ordinary protagonist, and the walk we take with enigmatic narrator Josef is no ordinary journey. The Blue City isn’t a travelogue but rather a thoughtful meander through the geography of self. Josef forces us to confront innocence, freedom, opportunity, fear, and honesty within these locales. “This is where childhood stutters and sings,” he tells us of the Black City." - Susannah Nichols  Read more...


Editor's Picks


Field Guide

On Foot

Upcoming Events

Sept24The Poets’ Follies Reading Series, sponsored by Marick Press and The Oakland University Writing Center, will feature the poetry of David Young, Todd Swift and Jason Storms at 6:30PM. The reading will be followed by a question and answer session.
Wednesday September 24, 2014
6:30PM, Room 212, Kresge Library at Oakland University
Rochester, MI 48309 
   - For more info...

““Nothing good ever comes of love. What comes of love is always something better”
― Roberto Bolaño